TL;DR
- Amazon Ads announced Sponsored Services on 29 September 2026: local service professional ads on product detail, order confirmation and package tracking pages.
- Yelp supplies the advertisers; it is available now to Yelp advertisers in eligible U.S. home and auto services categories such as plumbers, electricians and roofers.
- Each ad has a Call action and a Quote action; Yelp cites millions of local businesses and more than 300 million reviews.
- Amazon did not disclose pricing, performance data, which signals map a purchase to a service, or plans outside the U.S.
On 29 September 2026 Amazon Ads announced Sponsored Services, a new ad format that shows local service professionals to shoppers on product detail pages, order confirmation pages and package tracking pages. Yelp supplies the advertisers, and the format is available now to Yelp advertisers in eligible home and auto services categories in the United States. Each ad carries a Call action and a Quote action, and the announcement did not give pricing, performance data or plans for any other country.
What Amazon Ads announced on 29 September 2026
The announcement, published on the Amazon Ads news library and made at the company's unBoxed event, describes Sponsored Services as a way to connect local businesses with Amazon shoppers at the moment they need a service. Per the announcement, the ads appear right after shoppers make a purchase, or search on Amazon, for something that could require professional installation or follow-on services.
The example Amazon gives is simple. A shopper buys a kitchen faucet and sees an ad for a plumber. The same logic applies to other pairings that the announcement implies without listing: a purchase that creates a job for a tradesperson, and an ad from a tradesperson who can do it.
Where the ads appear and what they do
Three placements are named: product detail pages, order confirmation pages and package tracking pages.
The ad offers two actions. With Call, the shopper calls the professional directly without leaving Amazon. With Quote, the shopper submits a quick request directly from the ad experience, and the business follows up to provide an estimate. Both are lead actions, not product purchases, which is why the format is a service-lead product on a retail site and not a sponsored product listing.
Who can advertise and where it is available
Amazon says Sponsored Services is available now for Yelp advertisers within eligible home and auto services categories in the U.S. The named categories include plumbers, electricians, landscapers, home cleaners, roofers and movers, and the announcement indicates there are more.
Yelp supplies the advertisers. Katy Lightsey, Yelp's Head of Services Operations, said the partnership brings Yelp's high-intent platform to shoppers at the point of purchase and creates a new way for the millions of local businesses on Yelp to drive quotes. The announcement describes Yelp as having millions of local businesses and more than 300 million reviews.
Jenn Donohue, Director of Local Ads at Amazon Ads, said Sponsored Services connects local businesses with Amazon shoppers at the exact moment they need a service, and that it unlocks an audience they have never had access to before.
The announcement at a glance
The table below collects what the Amazon Ads announcement states, with no figures added from elsewhere.
| Item | What the announcement says |
|---|---|
| Announced | 29 September 2026, at unBoxed |
| Placements | Product detail pages, order confirmation pages, package tracking pages |
| Trigger | A purchase or search on Amazon for something that could require professional installation or follow-on services |
| Ad actions | Call (phone the business without leaving Amazon) and Quote (short request form in the ad) |
| Advertisers | Yelp advertisers in eligible home and auto services categories |
| Geography | United States |
| Yelp scale cited | Millions of local businesses and more than 300 million reviews |
What the announcement did not say
Several details that an advertiser would need are absent from the announcement. The sources read do not state:
- Which signals connect a purchase to a service category, beyond the faucet and plumber example.
- How the ads are priced, for example per call, per quote or per impression.
- Any performance data from tests or early advertisers.
- Whether or when the format will reach countries outside the U.S.
- Whether Yelp advertisers take part automatically or must opt in, and what an advertiser outside the Yelp network would need to do to appear.
- Any reporting, such as which metrics an advertiser sees for calls or quote requests started from an order confirmation page.
The trade outlet PPC Land, which also covered the launch on 29 September, adds its own list of open questions, including how campaigns are set up, how calls and quotes are measured and attributed, and how "eligible" categories are defined. Those are that outlet's observations about gaps and not facts from Amazon.
Why the trigger is the interesting part
This section is analysis, not reporting. Local service advertising has mostly been bought against a search query: someone types "plumber near me" and a local ad answers. Sponsored Services moves the trigger earlier and sideways. The signal is a retail transaction or a product search, and the service need is inferred from it.
That changes the audience in a specific way. A shopper who has just bought a faucet is not necessarily searching for a plumber, but the purchase is evidence that a plumbing job may be coming. The ad reaches that person before a search for a plumber happens. Amazon's own statement that the format unlocks an audience local businesses have never had access to before points at the same idea.
It also shows how retail data can be used beyond selling products. Amazon already knows what people buy. The announcement does not say how it maps purchases to service categories, so how well the inference works remains unknown.
One consequence, also analysis, is that the usual way of judging local ads may not transfer. A search ad can be judged by the query that triggered it. Here the trigger is a purchase, so an advertiser would want to know which purchases lead to its ad, and whether the people who see it are close to hiring or only browsing a related product. The announcement offers no answer, and an advertiser can only learn it from its own call and quote data once that data is available.
Questions an advertiser would ask first
These are checks a business would reasonably make before committing budget, framed as questions because the sources do not answer them.
- Pricing basis. If the charge is per call or per quote, how are repeat callers and wrong-category requests handled?
- Lead quality. A shopper who taps Quote while confirming an unrelated order may not be ready to hire. What does the follow-up rate look like?
- Attribution. A call placed inside the ad needs a way to be counted. The announcement does not say how that is reported to the advertiser.
- Category fit. The named trades are installation and home-service businesses. Whether other categories qualify is described only as "eligible".
- Control. The announcement does not say how Yelp advertisers join. How much targeting an advertiser can set on the Amazon side is not stated.
What this means for Thai marketers
The launch is for U.S. businesses and U.S. shoppers, and nothing in the sources mentions Thailand or any plan to bring the format outside the United States. Thai businesses cannot buy this today, and this post does not suggest otherwise.
The useful takeaway is about direction, and it is analysis. First, retail platforms are selling intent that is built from purchases as well as from searches. Brands and sellers working on ecommerce marketing should watch whether marketplaces they use add post-purchase or non-product ad formats, because those formats compete for the same shopper attention after checkout.
Second, for service businesses, the format is a reminder that local lead generation does not live only in search. A business that manages its Google Business Profile and local listings as part of local SEO already has structured information about services and areas, which is the kind of data a lead product like this relies on. Third, for teams that buy search ads, Google Ads for local services remains a separate channel with its own lead-based formats, and a new competing source of leads is a reason to track cost per lead rather than assume it stays flat. The sources do not compare the two, so any comparison would be an inference.
What to watch next
- Whether Amazon or Yelp publishes pricing and measurement details.
- Whether early advertisers report results, and whether those results are independent of the companies involved.
- Whether the eligible categories widen beyond home and auto services.
- Whether any announcement names markets outside the U.S.
Frequently asked questions
What is Amazon Sponsored Services?
Sponsored Services is an Amazon Ads format, announced on 29 September 2026, that shows local service professionals to shoppers on product detail, order confirmation and package tracking pages. Yelp supplies the advertisers.
Where do Sponsored Services ads appear?
They appear on product detail pages, order confirmation pages and package tracking pages. Amazon says they show right after a purchase or search for something that could require professional installation or follow-on services.
Who can use Sponsored Services?
It is available now to Yelp advertisers in eligible home and auto services categories in the U.S. Named categories include plumbers, electricians, landscapers, home cleaners, roofers and movers.
How much does it cost?
The announcement does not say. Amazon Ads did not disclose pricing, and no performance data was published with it.
Is Sponsored Services available in Thailand?
No source says so. The announcement covers Yelp advertisers in the U.S. and does not mention other countries or a rollout plan.
If you run local or ecommerce campaigns and want help judging where new ad formats fit, Relevant Audience can review your account setup.







